STYLECREEPER: How to wear- Beanies

Published on STYLECREEPER.com (25/06/13)

Every season I love how accessories are adapted to suit the trends. Socks, scarves, hats and tights are all re-invented into on-trend, must-have items. This season, I have jumped onto the beanie bandwagon.

I remember the days when my mother would force a beanie onto my head. I would stand, cross-armed, and not speak to her until it was ripped off my head as soon I stepped indoors. The only one I wore willingly was a Richmond Tiger beanie, and that was strictly for football matches only.

Today, I have serious beanie envy when I walk past someone (girl or boy) rocking one of the most-wanted hats of the season. There are so many awesome styles out there! From neon or fluffy to pom-poms, slogans and cat-eared…. it is so easy to find one that tickles your fancy.

Becoming the perfect add-on to any outfit, you can use a beanie to add a splash of colour, a quirky pattern, or just a fun element to a plain outfit, and keep your head toasty at the same time!

I advise heading to the boys section for sports inspired beanies (especially American teams) as they are always super colourful with great graphics. I also find that the men’s section usually has less cutsie styles and more awesome patterns, pom-poms and vibrant colour combos. American Apparel have the fail-safe block coloured beanie. They have a few unisex designs, folded, short, long, pom-pom etc, and all come in about a million colours.

If you want the hard work done for you, head to Polyvore where they have reached into the furthest corners of the World Wide Web to find the most amazing beanies. They have labelled their selection of beanies as “dope” – and I totally agree.

So you have found the coolest/warmest beanies out there – now how do you wear them?

Leave a Reply

